Mr. White Sox

I grew up on the south side of Chicago, 5 blocks from Comiskey Park in one direction, 5 blocks from Chinatown in the other. One of our favorite places was a little restaurant in Chinatown called Far East Oven. When Minnie Miñoso was a pitching coach for the Sox, he’d often bring the young players to Far East Oven, and he would come in wearing a long fur coat. Fur coats are not as popular now as they were back in the day, but I remember my grandma would say, “Who do they think they are, Minnie Miñoso?” when we saw someone wearing fur. As if he was the only one who could pull it off. That line still pops in my head when I see someone looking all fancy. It brings fond memories of my grandma and of old Comiskey Park. Thanks, Mr. White Sox!

Congratulations on his recent induction into the Baseball Hall of Fame. What an accomplished career!

Please leave a comment